



Minutes of the Parish Assembly

Wednesday 17 January 2018 at 7.00 p.m.

Assembly Room, Town Hall

3/18	Welcome & Apologies
	Apologies: The Dean, Procureur Peter Pearce, Edward Trevor, & Deputies Judy Martin and Russell Labey
	Deputies in Attendance: Deputies Jackie Hilton, Geoff Southern, Sam Mezec, Andrew Lewis, Richard Rondel, Scott Wickenden, & Mike Higgins
	Procureurs in attendance: Geraint Jennings
4/18	Procedural Change
	A procedural change to the process before the Election of the Roads Committee took place was proposed by Procureur Geraint Jennings and seconded by Bernie Manning. The change would mirror the one used at the December Parish Assembly when the last election for the Roads Committee took place. On a vote by a show of cards the procedural change was approved by a large majority.
5/18	Item 1: In conformity with Article 5 of the Loi (1914) sur la Voirie, to elect one member of the Assembly to act as an officer of the Roads Committee for a term of three years;
	The Constable asked if there were any nominations from the Assembly to fill the one vacancy. The following nominations were then received: Barry Le Feuvre – proposed by Michael Lambotte seconded by Nigel Blake Amanda Brown – proposed by Deputy Sam Mezec seconded by Colin Lever Following a two minute speech by both candidates as to their experience, what they would bring as a member of the Roads Committee and a 30 minute question and answer session the Constable announced that there being 2 candidates for the one vacancy a secret ballot would be held. The result of the ballot was as follows; Barry Le Feuvre 61 votes Amanda Brown 36 votes There were no sploit papers The Constable therefore declared the following person elected for a period of three years: Barry Le Feuvre The Constable congratulated the successful candidate and warned him to present himself before the Royal Court on Friday 19 January 2018 to take his Oath of Office.
	The unsuccessful candidate was also thanked for allowing her name to be put forward for consideration.
	Item 2: : In conformity with Article 5 of the Loi (1914) sur la Voirie, to elect two Inspectors of Roads for
6/18	the Vingtaine de la Ville and the Vingtaine du Mont Cochon, and one Inspector for the Vingatine du Rouge Bouillon for a term of three years
	The Constable asked the Assembly for nominations in respect of the vacancies for Roads Inspectors for each of the following Vingtaines; For the Vingtaine du Rouge Bouillon: Martyn Gallery was proposed by Bernie Manning and seconded by Joao Nunes

	For the Vingtaine de la Ville:
	Steven Phillips was proposed by Christopher East and seconded by Bernie Manning Christopher East was proposed by Steven Phillips and seconded by Bernie Manning
	For the Vingtaine du Mont Cochon:
	There were no nominations for either position
	Following a show of cards the Constable declared all three candidates elected, and they were warned to present themselves before the Royal Court on Friday 19 January 2018 to take their Oaths of Office.
	The Constable informed the Assembly that as the required number of Roads Inspectors still had not been elected we would include this matter again at another Parish Assembly to look to appoint the remaining number.
7/18	Item 3: In accordance with Article 32 of the Rates (Jersey) Law 2005, to elect a minimum of two persons to act as members of the Assessment Committee for a term of three years;
	Rachael Fay proposed by Andrew Le Quesne and seconded by Mary Osmond
	Following a show of cards the Constable declared the candidate elected, and she was warned to present herself before the Royal Court on Friday 19 January 2018 to take her Oath of Office.
	The Constable informed the Assembly that as the Parish are required to have a minimum of seven Assessors another Parish Assembly would include this matter again to look to appoint the remaining one assessor.
	The date of the next Parish Assembly were confirmed as Wednesday 31 January 2018 at 7.00pm